Public Power Daily Logo

Nebraska utility celebrates Cooper Nuclear Station's 40th anniversary


From the July 18, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 18, 2014

 
This month, the Nebraska Public Power District is marking the Cooper Nuclear Station's 40th anniversary. The nuclear power plant began commercial operation on July 1, 1974. Employees and their families recognized the anniversary on July 9 with a safety fair focused on 40 years of safe, reliable operation.

The Cooper Nuclear Station has become one of the best performing boiling water nuclear power plants in the country, said Oscar Limpias, chief nuclear officer for the plant. "The effort put forth by the employees to reach excellence each and every day has contributed to the continuing improvement and success of the facility," he said.

"Forty years ago, our predecessors had the foresight to add a revolutionary generating technology to our portfolio – nuclear," said NPPD CEO and President Pat Pope. "Cooper is one reason NPPD’s generation portfolio is more than 40 percent carbon free." NPPD's customers continue to benefit from the utility's commitment to meet their electrical needs, "now and in the future, with diverse, low-cost and sustainable energy," he said.

"We expect to continue our commitment of providing safe, reliable and emission-free energy another 20 years," Pope added.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org