Public Power Daily Logo

APPA offers spreadsheet, webinar on calculating EPA carbon dioxide targets for states


From the July 16, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 16, 2014

The American Public Power Association (APPA) has developed a spreadsheet tool to help its members determine—for each state—the interim and final carbon dioxide emission rates proposed by the Environmental Protection Agency in its proposed New Source Performance Standards for existing fossil-fuel power plants. APPA also is offering a webinar on July 18, from 2-3:30 p.m. Eastern time, to review the assumed NSPS targets set by EPA, go over how the assumptions were calculated, and help members use the spreadsheet tool. Registration is required but the webinar is free but is open only to APPA member utilities. A link to the spreadsheet tool is posted on APPA's website.
 
Based on APPA’s review of EPA’s published data, a number of additional ratios to describe target impacts have been calculated on the spreadsheet, said Alex Hofmann, APPA’s energy and environmental services manager, who developed the calculator. APPA will update the calculator as needed and welcomes feedback from members (email AHofmann@PublicPower.org).
 
APPA members can register for the webinar online. All you need to attend is a phone and a computer with Internet access. For questions and assistance with registration, please contact Meghan Riley (202/467-2919; MRiley@PublicPower.org).
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org