Public Power Daily Logo

Senate confirms nominations of Bay and LaFleur to FERC

From the July 16, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 16, 2014

The Senate yesterday confirmed the nominations of Norman C. Bay to be a commissioner of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and of Cheryl LaFleur to a second term as a commissioner. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee Chair Mary Landrieu, D-La., said an agreement had been reached to allow LaFleur to continue to serve as acting chair for nine months, after which President Obama would name Bay as chairman. 

Bay will fill out former Chairman Jon Wellinghoff’s term ending June 30, 2018. LaFleur was confirmed to a five-year term expiring June 30, 2019.

Bay has headed FERC’s Office of Enforcement since 2009. Prior to joining the commission, he worked as a law professor at the University of New Mexico from 2002 to 2009. From 2000 to 2001, Mr. Bay was the United States Attorney for the District of New Mexico, and an Assistant U.S. Attorney from 1989 to 2000. He earned a B.A. from Dartmouth College and a J.D. from Harvard Law School.

Prior to joining the commission in 2010, LaFleur had more than 20 years’ experience in the electric and natural gas industry. She served as executive vice president and acting CEO of National Grid USA. Her previous positions at National Grid USA and its predecessor New England Electric System included chief operating officer, president of the New England distribution companies and general counsel. She began her career as a lawyer at Ropes and Gray in Boston. She has a J.D. from Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review, and an A.B. from Princeton University.


Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro