Public Power Daily Logo

Palo Alto, California, issues RFP for community solar project


From the July 9, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 9, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
The city of Palo Alto, California, has issued a request for proposals to create a community solar program with a capacity of at least one megawatt and as much as 3 MW. A pre-proposal webinar is offered today (July 9) at 2 p.m., Pacific Standard Time. Proposals are due by Aug. 12.

The City of Palo Alto Utilities (CPAU) said its primary goals for the program are:
•  to help facilitate reaching the city’s target of meeting 4 percent of its energy needs from local solar energy by 2023 (from 0.7 percent in 2013), and 
•  to give all of the utility's customers – including those who rent and those without
sufficient solar access – the opportunity to experience and derive benefit from solar power.

CPAU expects to purchase the full output of electricity produced by the solar unit, which would be owned by a third party.

More information is posted on the city's solicitations page.

Any questions about the RFP should be directed to Carolynn Bissett, the contract administrator. 

 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org