Public Power Daily Logo

Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority announces agreement with lenders


From the July 8, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 8, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director

The Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority (PREPA) yesterday announced that its lenders who provide revolving lines of credit used to pay for purchased power, fuel and other expenses have agreed to not exercise remedies as a result of credit downgrades and other events. Under the agreements, PREPA said it may delay certain payments that are due now until July 31, 2014. 

Over the next few weeks, PREPA said it will continue discussions with the lenders and will use the time to evaluate various alternatives to improve its financial situation. The agreements place no limits on its ongoing operations, the utility said. Payments due to employees and suppliers will continue to be paid as usual.

"While PREPA faces certain financial challenges today, we are working hard to improve operations, strengthen service and modernize our infrastructure, so we can deliver cleaner and more reliable energy to our customers," said PREPA Executive Director Juan Alicea Flores. "We thank our lenders for their ongoing cooperation and support as we work to transform PREPA to best serve our customers." 

 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org