Public Power Daily Logo

SRP agrees to purchase additional geothermal energy


From the June 27, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 27, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director

The Salt River Project has agreed to purchase an additional 37 megawatts of renewable geothermal energy from a number of plants located in the Imperial Valley of Southern California. The Phoenix-area utility amended its existing agreement with CalEnergy, LLC for 50 MW of geothermal power and will now purchase a total of 87 MW. One megawatt is about enough energy to power approximately 250 homes in the Phoenix area.

SRP’s purchase will begin with 18 MW in 2016 and grow to the full 87 MW in 2020. The purchase power agreement will run until 2039. The geothermal facilities are located in the Salton Sea Known Geothermal Resource Area.

SRP estimates that the geothermal power generated by the project will offset approximately 800 million pounds of carbon dioxide emissions each year – the equivalent of taking about 70,000 cars off the road. Under its Sustainable Portfolio goals, SRP must meet 20 percent of its retail electricity requirements through sustainable resources by the year 2020.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org