Public Power Daily Logo

Mayors sign new agreement on fighting climate change


From the June 26, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 26, 2014

U.S. Conference of Mayors (USCM) President Sacramento Mayor Kevin Johnson joined with other mayors to sign a revised agreement to fight climate change by reducing carbon emissions, promoting energy independence and efficiency and developing renewable energy. The revised agreement for the first time emphasizes local actions to adapt cities to changing climatic conditions and to build grassroots support for local conservation initiatives, the conference said. It also urges federal and state governments to enact bipartisan legislation, policies and programs to assist mayors in their efforts to lead the nation toward energy independence, create jobs that can't be shipped overseas, protect the environment, eliminate waste, and fight climate change.

"This is not a cause for mayors," said USCM Energy independence and Climate Protection Task Force Co-Chair and Bridgeport, Connecticut Mayor Bill Finch. He urged all mayors to sign the new agreement, which "remains bullish on climate change mitigation efforts, but increases our focus on resiliency." The conference noted that, for nearly a decade through its Mayors' Climate Protection Center, it has recognized mayors for their successful efforts with its annual Mayors' Climate Protection Awards.

The revised agreement is posted on the USCM website.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org