Public Power Daily Logo

Latest blogs from APPA include text of CEO Sue Kelly's speech at Denver conference


From the June 23, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 23, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor

In her June 16 speech to the American Public Power Association's National Conference in Denver, APPA President and CEO Sue Kelly spoke of the example set by Alex Radin, one of APPA's founding fathers. Radin died in early April, just after Kelly became CEO of the organization that he led for 35 years (he was the association's chief executive from 1951 until 1986). On re-reading his memoir, Public Power, Private Life, "I was struck by how similar the policy battles we are fighting now are to the ones he fought decades ago," said Kelly.

"Right now we are facing substantial challenges, including threats to the federal power system, wholesale market dysfunction, distributed generation, climate change, and grid security," she said. "And as we take these challenges on, we should be guided, as Alex was, by what is right for those we serve. By what will keep the lights on, the rates reasonable, and the environment protected."

A transcript of the speech, and link to a video, is the most recent posting on Kelly's blog, Public Power Lines. Her blog, called the CEO Blog, can be found by going to the APPA website, www.publicpower.org, and clicking on the "News" tab at the top. A second blog, called the Experts Blog, also is listed under the News tab.

Among the recent topics on these blogs are:

The Experts Blog on grid security includes an infographic (illustration) that public power utilities and others are invited to use on their websites or on social media channels.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org