Public Power Daily Logo

Senate energy committee votes in favor of LaFleur and Bay for FERC


From the June 19, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 19, 2014

The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee yesterday approved the nominations of Norman Bay and Cheryl LaFleur for seats on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. The two nominees must still be confirmed by the full Senate.

Bay's nomination was approved by a vote of 13-9 and LaFleur's nomination was approved by a vote of 21-1. LaFleur is currently the commission's acting chair.

According to Politico, Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., said there was an understanding that the White House would hold off for nine months before naming Bay as chair of the FERC.

Sen. Dean Heller of Nevada was the only Republican to support Bay, while Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont (I) cast the only vote against LaFleur, Politico reported.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org