Public Power Daily Logo

APPA urges House leaders to support House bill on CFTC


From the June 17, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 17, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor, Public Power Daily

The American Public Power Association wrote to the leaders of the House Agriculture Committee yesterday, asking them to back H.R. 4413, the Customer Protection and End-User Relief Act. The House is scheduled to consider the bill this week.

The legislation "includes important relief for public power utilities and other end-users seeking to use swaps to hedge commercial-operations risks," said APPA President and CEO Sue Kelly in a letter to Agriculture Committee Chairman Frank Lucas, R-Okla., and Ranking Member Collin Peterson, D-Minn.

The bill incorporates the provisions of the Public Power Risk Management Act (H.R. 1038), which passed the House unanimously last summer and which APPA strongly supports. (For more details on H.R. 4413, see the June 16 Public Power Daily.)

Kelly applauded the substantial changes made to the bill as passed by the committee to address concerns raised by some stakeholders, including the Consumer Federation of America, of which APPA is a member.

For more on this topic, see the June 12 blog, "Electricity Swaps: Are We Going to Have a Better Deal?" by Joy Ditto, APPA's senior vice president of legislative and political affairs.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org