Public Power Daily Logo

Appeals court upholds ruling that Maryland effort to promote new generation is unconstitutional


From the June 12, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 12, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
A federal appeals court has upheld a lower court's ruling that a 2012 Maryland Public Service Commission order promoting development of new generation in the state is unconstitutional. States have substantial latitude in directly regulating generation, but "they may not exercise this authority in a way that impinges on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's exclusive power to specify wholesale rates," a three-judge panel of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit said in a June 2 decision in PPL EnergyPlus v. Nazarian.

APPA and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association earlier this year filed a joint brief in the case, arguing that the district court decision was based on an erroneous reading of the Federal Power Act and of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission policy and runs counter to the public interest.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org