Public Power Daily Logo

President signs water resources bill


From the June 12, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 12, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
President Obama on June 10 signed into law the $12.3 billion Water Resources Reform and Development Act (WRRDA), which authorizes 34 critical Army Corps of Engineers projects to improve infrastructure. The act includes a provision (Section 1046) backed by APPA that specifically prohibits the Corps from altering project purposes at dams or reservoirs it operates. In a May 19 letter to lawmakers, APPA President and CEO Sue Kelly said that would help "protect the low cost, renewable, and reliable hydropower that is crucially important to so many of our members." 

That section of the law also directs the Corps to assess reservoir operations, rather than make changes to operations as called for in an earlier version of the bill.

The measure contains 13 references to contribution of funds by third parties, in what may be a sign of a trend by the Corps to look to outside parties for funding rather than rely on appropriations.

The text of the bill is posted online.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org