Public Power Daily Logo

Municipal utility in Manassas, Virginia, receives APPA's Century Award


From the June 9, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 9, 2014

By Fallon Forbush
Communications Assistant
Left to right: Jeff Haas, APPA vice president of membership and I.T.; J. Steven Randolph, Manassas councilman; John Weber, chair of the Manassas Utility Commission; and Clyde Wimmer, a member of the utility commission. Photo courtesy of Manassas City Utilities







Manassas City Utilities in Virginia received the Century Award from APPA for its 100-year anniversary. The Century Award is given to APPA utilities that serve their consumers and communities continuously for 100 years with distributed electricity.

"We’re honored to receive this prestigious award ... We look forward to serving them another 100 years," said Mike Moon, director of public works and utilities for Manassas.

To commemorate the milestone, Manassas hosted an anniversary event that was attended by more than 600 people, the utility said. A time capsule containing memorable utility items from the past century was ceremoniously buried. The utility also raised more than $3,000 to donate to the American Cancer Society.

"APPA’s Century Award is a source of pride, not only to all those associated with the utility and the community, but to all of public power," said Sue Kelly, APPA president and CEO.

A list of previous award recipients, including utilities that are celebrating their centennial this year, can be found at PublicPower.org.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org