Public Power Daily Logo

APPA’s DEED program offers June 11 webinar on a public power high school curriculum focused on energy and the environment


From the June 6, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 6, 2014

APPA’s Demonstration of Energy & Efficiency Developments (DEED) program will hold a webinar next week called Energy and the Environment, a High School Curriculum for Public Power. The webinar will take place on Wednesday, June 11, from 2 to 3:30 p.m., Eastern time.

South Carolina's Santee Cooper will discuss its recent project to develop a curriculum to educate high school students about applying scientific reasoning and basic engineering principles to some of the fundamentals of the electric industry. The curriculum covers 12 topics, including an introduction to energy, solar and wind power, and electricity basics. Each topic consists of an interactive teacher-guided lesson, while also encouraging student-led exploration and data collection.

This webinar may be useful to utilities looking for opportunities to work with their local schools to educate students (future customers) about traditional forms of electricity production, alternative methods for generating electricity, and the importance of conservation.

The webinar is worth 0.2 continuing education units and 1.5 professional development hour credits. The webinar will be offered at no cost to DEED program members, $89 for APPA members and $179 for non-members. For more information and to register, visit www.APPAAcademy.org under Webinars or contact Michelle Zaccagnino at MZaccagnino@publicpower.orgor 202/467-2942.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org