Public Power Daily Logo

Changes in CO2 emissions have varied by state, region, says EIA


From the June 5, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 5, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
Some states and regions of United States have seen a bigger change in energy-related carbon dioxide emissions than others, the U.S. Energy Information Administration said June 3 in its column, "Today in Energy." 

"Between 2005 and 2011, all four Census regions—West, South, Midwest, and Northeast—experienced emissions declines, with the Northeast experiencing larger emissions reductions than the other regions," the agency said. "Underlying state-level emissions changes spanned an even wider range, from a 20 percent emissions increase in Nebraska (Midwest) to a 33 percent decrease in Nevada (West). Regional and subregional spreads reflect differences in local energy economics, population distribution, and other factors."
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org