Public Power Daily Logo

Sen. Reid urges FERC to approve California ISO's proposed energy imbalance market


From the June 2, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 2, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev., has urged the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission to approve the California Independent System Operator’s proposed energy imbalance market. In a May 15 letter, he also urged the commission to approve the participation of NV Energy, Nevada’s largest utility, in the proposed market. The letter touts the benefits of an imbalance market and says the proposed market "has widespread support among regional stakeholders, Public Utility Commissioners, the Western Interstate Energy Board’s PUC-EIM Working Group, renewable energy advocacy groups, environmental organizations, electric power trade groups, and a host of private corporations, including major electric utilities in the region." 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org