Public Power Daily Logo

Human resources, training will be the focus of several sessions at 2014 Business & Financial Conference


From the May 30, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 30, 2014

By Meghan Riley
Education Coordinator
APPA’s Business & Financial Conference in September will offer a number of presentations geared for public power professionals in the area of human resources and training.  

Topics covered at the conference, to be held Sept. 14-17 in Portland, Ore., will include: 

•    Using Social Media to Recruit and Retain
•    Ask a Human Resources Attorney
•    Drugs in the Workplace
•    Pass the Knowledge Please: Succession Planning
•    Love Them or Lose Them: Employee Retention Tools
•    Working with Unions: Is it Black, White or Gray?

The program includes roundtable discussions, networking breakfasts, receptions and other opportunities for networking and information exchange. 

The conference also offers educational sessions for utility professionals in the areas of accounting, finance, customer accounting, customer services, information technology, pricing, and market analysis.

Attendees will have an opportunity to attend in-depth pre-conference seminars on Sunday, Sept. 14. Topics include "Sustainability Accounting and Reporting," "Distributed Generation: Unique Issues Facing Public Power," "Establishing and Strengthening the Internal Audit Function in Your Utility," and "Utility Data Analytics: Turning Utility Data into Utility Value."

Visit www.publicpower.org/BandF for complete program information and to register.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org