Public Power Daily Logo

EIA cuts estimate of oil recoverable from Monterey Shale by 96 percent


From the May 27, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 27, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director

The Energy Information Administration (EIA) has cut its estimate of the amount of oil recoverable from California’s Monterey Shale formation by 96 percent, from 13.7 billion barrels to just 600 million, according to reports in the Los Angeles Times and elsewhere. "The EIA concluded that the technical recoverability of Monterey shale did not look as strong in 2014 because of the industry's difficulty in producing from the region," EIA Administrator Adam Sieminski told reporters in New York.

"Not all resources are created equal," Sieminski said. "It turned out that it is harder to crack the reservoirs and get the oil flowing from the Monterey" than from other shale plays in different regions of the country. New extraction methods may eventually make it economically feasible to extract the resources, he said. "The rock is there, the technology isn’t there." —R.V.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org