Public Power Daily Logo

47 senators ask EPA to provide 120 days to comment on proposed carbon emissions rule for existing plants


From the May 27, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 27, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director

A bipartisan group of 47 senators asked the Environmental Protection Agency to provide a 120-day comment period for its forthcoming proposed New Source Performance Standards for carbon dioxide emissions from existing power plants. An extended comment period is needed, given "the significant impacts this rule could have on our nation’s electricity providers and consumers, on jobs in communities that have existing coal-based power plants, and on the economy as a whole," the senators said in a May 22 letter.

Stakeholders will need time to analyze the proposed rule’s "impact on individual power plants, reliability and consumer cost, and on the electric system as a whole," the senators said. That "will be no small undertaking, as this will be the first ever regulation of greenhouse gases from existing power plants."

"Affordable, reliable, and redundant sources of electricity are essential to the economic well-being of our states and the quality of life of our constituents," the letter said. "While we all agree that clean air is vitally important, EPA has an obligation to understand the impacts that regulations have on all segments of society."

EPA is expected to propose its performance standards for existing power plants June 2.

The May 22 letter is available at http://1.usa.gov/1n60RuT.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org