Public Power Daily Logo

Nuclear industry opens regional response center


From the May 23, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 23, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
The nuclear power industry yesterday opened the first of two regional response centers for safety equipment, according to Energy Northwest. Located in Phoenix, Ariz., the center is capable of delivering complete sets of equipment to nuclear energy facilities nationwide within 24 hours, the Washington utility said. A similar regional response center is set to open in Memphis, Tenn., this summer. 

The response centers will contain portable safety items such as radiation protection equipment, portable generators, water pumps and other equipment that may be used to cool nuclear fuel and repair facility equipment, Energy Northwest said.

Developing these centers is among the actions the industry has taken in response to the March 2011 tsunami-induced meltdowns at the Fukushima nuclear plant in Japan. Nuclear energy facilities have multiple backup power systems and emergency equipment, but the Fukushima accident prompted greater preparation efforts for disasters. 

Both centers will be equipped with a list of the equipment for each nuclear facility located in the United States. If a facility should require assistance, "response center operators already will know what equipment the nuclear energy facility has and what it might need," Energy Northwest said. 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org