Public Power Daily Logo

APPA offers May 29 webinar on HR topics: FMLA, ADA, workers' comp


From the May 22, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 22, 2014

By Heidi Lambert
Manager, Education
On Thursday, May 29, from 2 to 3:30 p.m. Eastern time, APPA will hold a webinar on "How to Tame the Three-Headed Monster: FMLA, ADA and Workers’ Compensation." The acronyms refer to the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

This webinar will map out scenarios when an employee may, at the same time, have a "serious health condition" for FMLA purposes; a "qualified disability" for ADA purposes; and perhaps even an illness or injury covered by workers' compensation insurance. It will cover the following topics (among others): 

• Is a "serious health condition" for FMLA purposes the same as a "qualified disability" for ADA purposes?
• Do the rules for getting second and third medical opinions under the FMLA also apply to the ADA?
• Can medical information which may be obtainable under the ADA also be used to determine an employee’s eligibility for FMLA leave? Or vice versa?
• Can you require an employee on FMLA leave to substitute paid leave for unpaid FMLA leave, if s/he is simultaneously receiving workers' compensation benefits?
• How do the rules governing job reinstatement differ among the FMLA, the ADA and workers' compensation law?
• Can individual managers or supervisors be held liable for violations of the FMLA or the ADA?

The webinar will be led by Gerald Panaro, an attorney with Howe & Hutton, Ltd., in Washington, D.C. 

This webinar is worth 0.2 continuing education units, 1.5 professional development hours and 1.5 continuing professional education credits. 

For more information, visit www.APPAAcademy.org or contact Meghan Riley at 202/467-2919 or MRiley@PublicPower.org.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org