Public Power Daily Logo

Minnesota appeals ruling re electricity imports based on carbon emissions


From the May 22, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 22, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
The state of Minnesota has appealed a federal district court decision overturning a Minnesota law that would impose restrictions on carbon dioxide emissions from the generation of electricity imported into and consumed in the state. The state of North Dakota and others challenged Minnesota’s Next Generation Energy Act of 2007 (NGEA); the U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota on April 18 held that it violates the Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution. Minnesota filed the appeal May 19 with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit.

North Dakota was joined in the lawsuit by Missouri River Energy Services, two electric cooperatives (Basin Electric Power Cooperative and Minnkota Power Cooperative), two coal companies (The North American Coal Corp. and Great Northern Properties Ltd. Partnership), and the Lignite Energy Council. The American Public Power Association and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association filed a joint brief in support of the challenge to the Minnesota law.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org