Public Power Daily Logo

FERC proposes to revise open-access requirements for generator tie lines


From the May 19, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 19, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission approved a proposal to grant a blanket waiver from open-access transmission tariff requirements for utilities whose only transmission assets are interconnection facilities (such as generator tie lines). The commission said its goal is to reduce regulatory burdens and promote development of generation facilities while continuing to ensure open access to transmission facilities.

The commission’s current policy requires an owner of interconnection facilities to make excess capacity available to third parties unless it can justify its planned future use of the line in a petition to FERC. The proposed rule would allow interconnection facility owners to wait until a third-party request for service is made under sections 210, 211 and 211 of the Federal Power Act before having to file a petition to demonstrate their future use plans and milestones.

The proposed rule also would create a "safe harbor" where an owner of interconnection facilities is granted the rebuttable presumption that it has shown it will need any excess capacity for five years after being energized. That will reduce risks for owners during the critical early years of their projects, the commission said.

Comments on the notice of proposed rulemaking are due 60 days from its publication in the Federal Register.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org