Public Power Daily Logo

Austin signs contract for 150 MW of solar power


From the May 19, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 19, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
Austin Energy has awarded a contract to Recurrent Energy to create what will be Texas’s largest single solar facility and provide the municipal utility with 150 MW of power for 20 years. Terms of the deal were not disclosed.

"Recurrent Energy, which is well-established nationally, will construct a West Texas solar plant to provide 150 megawatts of power at a competitive rate," said Austin Energy General Manager Larry Weis. "This one action gives us a major step forward in meeting the Austin City Council’s goal of acquiring 200 megawatts of solar energy while keeping rates in line with affordability goals."

"This award from Austin Energy further proves solar’s ability to move into mainstream energy use," said Recurrent Energy CEO Arno Harris.

The Austin City Council in March authorized the utility to negotiate a 150-MW deal, and the Recurrent Energy proposal provided the best value for the city, Austin Energy said. Austin currently receives power from the 30-MW Webberville Solar Farm.

"Austin Energy’s commitment to renewable power began in the 1990s, when it signed up to take power from the state’s first commercial wind plant," Weis said. "We have learned a lot about how to incorporate renewable power into our overall portfolio." 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org