Public Power Daily Logo

‘Safety is part of our culture’


From the May 16, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 16, 2014

By Fallon Forbush
Communications Assistant
Lincoln Electric System’s Rokeby Generating Station employees celebrated 10 years without a lost-time injury or accident on April 28. Photo courtesy of LES
Employees at the Lincoln Electric System’s Rokeby Generating Station in Lincoln, Neb., have worked 10 years without a lost-time injury or accident, a streak that began April 28, 2004. The plant is LES’s primary peaking power station, totaling 241 megawatts with a 3-MW emergency diesel generator. "All our employees have done a great job to reach this milestone," said Bruce Barnhouse, the plant’s manager. "Safety is part of our culture." LES credits its safety record to an open line of communication throughout the company to prioritize safety and to promptly follow up on each safety issue.
 
The Fayetteville Public Works Commission was recognized by the North Carolina Department of Labor for achieving 3 million hours without a lost-time workplace accident. "PWC’s three million-hour award is the largest we’ve ever received," said General Manager Steve Blanchard. "We appreciate all the efforts our employees have made to keep focused on safety in every job." The N.C. Department of Labor also gave the utility its 26th consecutive Gold Safety Award. The award is given to employers that achieve job incident rates that are at least 50 percent below their industry average. With nearly 600 employees, the utility’s last lost-time incident occurred on Nov. 14, 2011.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org