Public Power Daily Logo

Kelly stresses need for public power awareness and education initiatives, citing MRES program


From the May 15, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 15, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
A recommendation that a utility buy an Xbox was one indication of the success of a Missouri River Energy Services (MRES) program "tackling one of the most vexing issues the electric utility industry has to deal with — the lack of understanding by our own retail customers of what it takes to make the lights come on when they flip the switch," APPA President and CEO Sue Kelly says in a May 14 blog post. In the post entitled "Teach Them Public Power and Learn Xboxes," she discusses an MRES school education program that resulted in 79 percent of students reporting that their families changed the way they used energy.

"One student, in his thank you note to his utility, said his family had saved money, but that he still intended to use his Xbox and suggested that MRES should buy one too!"

One moral of the story is that public power systems need to engage with their communities and highlight their contributions, using programs like MRES’ school initiative, Kelly says. "But every bit as important is the education of our future retail customers."

The post concludes with a request that public power utilities tell APPA about any public power awareness or education campaigns they have, either in comments on the blog post or via email. Conversely, members can ask APPA for ideas for such programs, Kelly notes.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org