Public Power Daily Logo

Alexandria, La., contracts for 60 MW of gas-fired fast-response units


From the May 14, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 14, 2014

The City of Alexandria, La., is expanding its 130-MW D.G. Hunter Generating Station and has contracted with Wartsila to supply seven Wartsila 34SG natural gas-fired units with a cumulative capacity of 60 MW, the company said May 9. The Wartsila units will be capable of reaching full load in just five minutes and will be used for peaking power, Wartsila said. 

"This expansion of our power plant will provide Alexandria citizens an efficient long-term power supply utilizing existing staff, facilities and partnerships," Alexandria Mayor Jacques M. Roy said. "These units will have the capability of powering critical infrastructure for the City in the event of a major grid failure due to storms or other natural disasters. The project will also ensure Alexandria remains diverse in fuel sources, while increasing insulation from unexpected changes in the power supply market." 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org