Public Power Daily Logo

Austin Energy installs fast electric charging for plug-in cars


From the May 9, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 9, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
Austin Energy in Texas has partnered with Town North Nissan and Nissan North America Inc. to install the first plug-in electric vehicle (EV) charging station using DC (direct current) fast technology in Austin. The DC charging station delivers power up to 45 times faster than a typical wall outlet, the utility said.

Austin Energy representatives, along with representatives from Town North Nissan, cut the ribbon to the DC charging station on April 24. The station is near two major highways.

"Although most electric vehicle charging will be done at the convenience of one's home, DC fast charging is another fueling option for those needing a faster charge while out on the road," said Karl Popham, manager of Austin Energy’s electric vehicles and emerging technologies program. "It’s something our fast-growing community of EV drivers has been requesting, and we are glad to officially charge the first public DC fast station in Austin."

Town North Nissan received a $10,000 rebate from Austin Energy’s Plug-In EVerywhere Network to help defray the costs of installing the station. The Plug-In EVerywhere Network has more than 180 plug-in electric charging stations throughout Austin Energy’s service territory, all powered by 100 percent renewable energy from the municipal utility's GreenChoice® program.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org