Public Power Daily Logo

Mitsubishi and GS Yuasa International join Snohomish PUD's MESA-1 energy storage project


From the May 8, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 8, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
The Snohomish County Public Utility District in Everett, Wash., announced that Mitsubishi International Corp. will provide the first battery deployed in the MESA-1 energy storage project.

The 1-MW, 500-kWh advanced battery storage system will be installed at Snohomish PUD’s Hardeson substation later this year. The installation will be the first energy storage system built on the Modular Energy Storage Architecture (MESA), an innovative approach to energy storage based on open, non-proprietary industry standards.

The lithium-ion battery equipment will be installed into a 40-foot ISO shipping container. The modular system design "allows for multiple containers to be combined into larger systems so customers can size energy storage systems for their specific needs without incurring the additional engineering costs of custom designed systems," the PUD said.

"We are pleased to partner with Mitsubishi International Corp. and GS Yuasa International Ltd., a global leader in lithium-ion battery systems, to demonstrate GS Yuasa’s batteries using the scalable MESA technology," said Snohomish PUD General Manager Steve Klein. "This project and the efforts by Mitsubishi International Corp. and GS Yuasa International Ltd. will help address the needs of utilities and set a worldwide standard for modular energy storage."
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org