Public Power Daily Logo

Administration looking at possible divestiture of TVA that continues public power model, Johnson says


From the May 8, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 8, 2014

The Office of Management and Budget is exploring options for possible divestiture of the Tennessee Valley Authority in a way that would preserve public ownership of the utility, TVA President and CEO Bill Johnson said May 6. "I think their real interest now is exploring some sort of ownership -- state, local or regional -- that continues the public power model but distances it from the federal government on their belief on maybe the federal government shouldn't be engaged in activities like this anymore," Johnson said during a conference call on TVA’s second quarter results.

In collaboration with an OMB financial expert, TVA has prepared a strategic review that explored numerous options for a different form of ownership, Johnson said. Asked if the options were financially viable, Johnson said that "depends on your view of financially viable and a couple other things. It’s a complicated and long analysis."

During the course of the strategic review, OMB’s focus changed from privatization of TVA to continuation of a public power model, he said.
 

Ratings

Average Rating:

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org