Public Power Daily Logo

EPA has until Dec. 19 to issue final coal ash rule


From the May 7, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 7, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
The Environmental Protection Agency faces a Dec. 19 deadline for issuing a final rule governing the disposal of coal ash as a solid waste under Subtitle D of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, under a consent decree approved by a federal court on May 2. 

The agency proposed a coal ash regulation in 2010, but never issued a final rule. Environmental, health and community groups sued and the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia issued an Oct. 29, 2013, order directing EPA to submit a schedule for issuing the final regulation. The court in that order rejected two other requests made by environmental groups in the suit, Appalachian Voices v. U.S. EPA. Judge Reggie Walton denied their request for an order directing EPA to review and revise, if necessary, its determination that coal ash is not a hazardous waste. The judge also rejected their claim that EPA is required to review and, if needed, revise its regulation for characterizing toxicity.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org