Public Power Daily Logo

APPA CEO Sue Kelly launches blog


From the May 6, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 6, 2014

APPA President and CEO Sue Kelly has launched a blog, Public Power Lines, where association members and others can read her take on issues of importance to public power, add comments and share the posts with others. Her first post, Keeping the Lights On: Electric Grid Security, looks at how APPA, its members and the rest of the utility industry is working with government officials and other industries to protect the electric infrastructure from physical and cyber attacks. 

A second post, Public Power: Locally Grown, Locally Owned, discusses the nature of public power and its business model — delivering low-cost, reliable, energy while practicing good environmental stewardship. Without loyalties divided between stockholders and customers, public power utilities are driven by the singular mission to serve their customers, Kelly notes. That was driven home on her first day as APPA’s CEO, visiting Keys Energy Services in Key West, Florida. "I toured its new transmission and distribution center, designed to withstand a Category 5 hurricane," she recounts. "Virtually every electric pole I saw was made of concrete — an expense the utility took on because it wanted to better protect its customers from outages."

Feel free to share links and to republish posts on your websites, newsletters, and social media channels — attributing to Sue Kelly, President and CEO, American Public Power Association. 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org