Public Power Daily Logo

Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3?) application period is now open


From the May 2, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 2, 2014

By Monica Dean
Energy and Environmental Services Assistant
APPA is now accepting applications from utilities for designation as a Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3). The application period opened yesterday (May 1) and will close on Sept. 30. Utilities that apply this year, are eligible for the new three-year designation cycle, with the designation beginning May 1, 2015 and expiring on April 30, 2018.

The RP3 program recognizes utilities that demonstrate high proficiency in four areas: reliability, safety, work force development, and system improvement. Criteria within each of the four RP3 areas are based upon sound business practices and a utility-wide commitment to safe and reliable delivery of service. RP3 recipients have used the program to improve their systems through the inherent self-check process, to demonstrate the value of a public power utility to customers, and, in some cases, to negotiate lower bond and insurance rates. 

Currently, 184 of the nation's more than 2,000 public power utilities have earned RP3 recognition. Lists of recently RP3-recognized utilities are posted on APPA's website. 

Information on the program and how to apply is available in the RP3 section of APPA's website, www.PublicPower.org. Questions about the program also can be directed to APPA's Engineering Services department by emailingRP3@PublicPower.org or calling 202/467-2900. 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org