Public Power Daily Logo

Broad coalition asks Senate to bring Shaheen-Portman bill to the floor for a vote

From the May 2, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published May 2, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
APPA, the Alliance to Save Energy and a broad coalition of over 80 companies, organizations, and trade associations have written to Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev., and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., asking them to bring the Shaheen-Portman Energy Savings and Industrial Competitiveness Act to the floor for a vote. 

The measure "would help meet America's goals of increasing energy productivity, enhancing energy security, reducing harmful emissions, and promoting economic growth in a financially responsible manner," the coalition said in an April 28 letter.

The bill, S. 2074, was introduced in late February by Sens. Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H., and Rob Portman, R-Ohio. A new version, S. 2262, is co-sponsored by Sens. Mary Landrieu, D-La., Susan Collins, R-Maine, Mark Warner, D-Va., Kelly Ayotte, R-N.H., Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., Roger Wicker, R-Miss., Al Franken, D-Minn., Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., Chris Coons, D-Del., and John Hoeven, R-N.D. 

Supporters of the bipartisan legislation say it would extend energy efficiency savings and benefits to all sectors of the U.S. economy, from schools and homes to commercial buildings, industry, and manufacturing. An analysis of the bill by the American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy estimates that, by 2030, the measure would  create more than 190,000 jobs, save consumers $16 billion a year, and cut carbon dioxide emissions by the equivalent of taking 22 million cars off the road. 


Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro