Public Power Daily Logo


From the April 29, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 29, 2014

Mark Kotschevar

Mark Kotschevar, Rochester Public Utilities director of core services, has been appointed general manager of the Minnesota utility, effective May 1. Kotschevar has worked for RPU for the last 32 years, previously as manager of maintenance and construction, senior electrical engineer, project electrical engineer, and electrical engineer. 

Steve G. Saum, former utilities director for the city of Danville, Va., has been named general manager of Hope Water and Light in Arkansas, effective May 19. He will succeed James R. Kirchhoff, who will retire in June after 28 years as general manager. Prior to Danville, Saum was general manager and chief executive officer of Richmond Power and Light in Indiana.

Laura Lewis

Laura Lewis, former chief assistant general counsel of the Sacramento Municipal Utility District, has been named general counsel of the California utility. Lewis was appointed to the position by SMUD’s board of directors after former general counsel Arlen Orchard was appointed general manager and chief executive officer to replace John Di Stasio, who retired April 11. Lewis joined SMUD in 1997 as a staff attorney before leaving to work for Davis Wright Tremaine, a San Francisco law firm, in 1999. She returned to SMUD in 2002 as a senior attorney before being promoted to assistant general counsel in 2010 and to chief assistant general counsel in 2013. 

David Papendrew, former acting treasurer-controller of the Clallam County Public Utility District in Washington, has been appointed to a permanent position as treasurer-controller. Papendrew replaces Josh Bunch, who resigned March 4. 

The Electric Power Research Institute appointed Denis P. O’Brien, senior executive vice president of Exelon Corp. and chief executive officer of Exelon Utilities, as chairman of its board of directors, and Gil C. Quiniones, president and chief executive officer of the New York Power Authority, as vice chairman. The Bonneville Power Administration selected Terry Oliver, chief technology innovation officer, to serve on the EPRI board. One-year term extensions were also approved for Nicholas K. Akins, chairman, president and chief executive officer of AEP, and Gale E. Klappa, chairman and chief executive officer of We Energy. New members elected for four-year terms are:

Mark B. Bonsall, general manager and chief executive officer of the Salt River Project;
Joseph P. Brannan, executive vice president and chief executive officer of the North Carolina Electric Membership Corp.; and
Patricia L. Kampling, chair, president and chief executive officer of Alliant Energy.

Elections were held for the Salt River Project Agricultural Improvement and Power District (District) and the Salt River Valley Water Users’ Association (Association). The newly elected officials will take office May 5 and 6. David Rousseau was re-elected president of the District and Association for his second four-year term. John R. "Randy" Hoopes was also re-elected vice president of the District and Association for his second four-year term. Elected to at-large positions of the District are:

• Bill Arnett; and
Wendy L. Marshall.

Elected to the board of the District and Association are:

Deborah S. Hendrickson;
Mark V. Pace;
Paul Rovey;
John "Jack" M. White, Jr.; and
Leslie C. Williams.

Elected to the council of the District and Association are:

• Garvey M. Biggers;
• M. Brandon Brooks;
• Christopher J. Dobson;
• Mark L. Farmer;
• Jerry Geiger;
• Dave B. Lamoreaux;
• Jacqueline "Jacque" Miller;
• Kimberly Owens;
• Mark C. Pedersen;
• Michael G. Rakow;
• William "Billy" P. Schrader III;
• William P. Schrader, Jr.;
• Bill Sheely;
• Nicholas J. Vanderwey; and
• Robert W. Warren.



Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro