Public Power Daily Logo

Short takes ...


From the April 23, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 23, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
Early this month, the Omaha Public Power District in Nebraska contributed significantly to the treasuries of the counties it serves, distributing more than $30.7 million in 2013 in-lieu-of-tax payments. The payments to 11 counties represent a new record, surpassing last year’s amount of $29 million, OPPD said. The payments are based on 5 percent of the utility’s gross revenues from retail sales of electricity in incorporated cities and towns during the previous year. County treasurers distribute the funds to school districts, cities, and other entities.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org