Public Power Daily Logo

APPA offers April 30 webinar on public power governance challenges


From the April 23, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 23, 2014

By Meghan Riley
Education and Marketing Coordinator
On Wednesday, April 30, from 2 to 3:30 p.m. Eastern time, APPA will hold a webinar on Industry Issues and Challenges Facing Public Power Governing Bodies. This is the fourth in a series of nine webinars  designed to educate elected and appointed public power board and city council members on the responsibilities and processes of electric utility governance. 
                 
Some say the electric utility industry is facing the most significant period of change since its inception more than 100 years ago. Organized markets, the smart grid, environmental regulations, power supply options, customer expectations and a changing workforce are just a few of the issues that utility governing bodies must deal with. In this webinar, Tim Blodgett, president and CEO of Hometown Connections, will discuss the major policy issues likely to be taken up by public power utility boards in the next ten years. 

Upcoming webinars will address utility financial operations, rate making, strategic planning, and performance monitoring and accountability for boards and city councils, as well as how to achieve excellence in public power governance. 

Each webinar is worth 0.2 continuing education units, 1.5 professional development hours, and 1.5 continuing professional education credits. Webinars can be taken individually, or as a series, for a discounted rate. They can also be applied to APPA’s Public Power Governance Certificate Program

For more information, visit  www.APPAAcademy.org or contact Meghan Riley at 202/467-2919 or MRiley@PublicPower.org.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org