Public Power Daily Logo

DOE offers $15 million to help communities develop solar deployment plans


From the April 21, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 21, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
The Energy Department is making $15 million available to help communities develop multi-year solar plans to install affordable solar electricity for homes and businesses. As part of the department’s "SunShot Initiative," the Solar Market Pathways funding opportunity is intended "to support regional, state, tribal, and locally-driven efforts to develop multi-year solar deployment plans that will help provide business certainty and establish a clear path for the next five to ten years of solar deployment," DOE said. DOE will hold a webinar on April 22 on the funding opportunity, including what types of projects are under consideration and what to expect from the concept paper and application process.

Awardees "are expected to convene stakeholder processes to develop their plan, and subgroups could address specific topics such as the net benefits and costs of solar electricity (to and from the grid), and/or develop solar deployment programs including, but not limited to, commercial property assessed clean energy financing, shared solar, and/or incorporating solar within their emergency response plans," the department said. 

Concept papers are due May 28 and full applications are due July 3. More information, including registration for the April 22 webinar, is available on DOE’s website.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org