Public Power Daily Logo

Settlement gives EPA until September 2015 to issue effluent guidelines


From the April 21, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 21, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director

The Environmental Protection Agency has an extra 16 months, until Sept. 30, 2015, to issue new effluent limitation guidelines (ELGs) for power plants. Under an agreement with environmental groups that had sued the agency, EPA also agreed not to ask for additional extensions. EPA published the proposed rule on April 19, 2013 and was initially expected to finalize the rule by Jan. 31, 2014, but sought an extension until May 22. However, EPA said in March it would not be able to meet the May deadline. The new, proposed effluent guidelines are intended to reduce the amount of toxic metals and other wastewater discharges from power plants into surface waters by strengthening the technology-based standards in the guidelines.

 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org