Public Power Daily Logo

Boulder City Council gives green light to first step toward local law creating a municipal utility


From the April 18, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 18, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
The city of Boulder, Colo., took the first formal step this week toward creating a municipal electric utility that could take over local electric service from investor-owned Xcel Energy. Voting unanimously on April 16, the City Council approved an ordinance that would create a city-owned utility, at least on paper. 

City leaders have said Boulder has not made a decision yet about whether to move forward with a city takeover of Xcel's distribution system. But by passing the ordinance forming a city-owned utility, they intend to put Boulder in a good position to issue bonds to pay for such a takeover. (See Public Power Daily, April 15.)

The ordinance will be discussed at a public hearing, and the City Council will vote on it again on May 6. If it is approved at that meeting, it will be effective in early June. 

The ordinance would create a municipal electric utility, establish the City Council as the utility's governing body, and create a board to advise the council. No one would be appointed to the board until the utility is ready to operate, the city said. If the city does not complete the municipalization process, the ordinance could be removed from the Boulder Revised Code.

More information is posted at www.boulderenergyfuture.com.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org