Public Power Daily Logo

ESPN analyst Merril Hoge to speak at APPA National Conference


From the April 17, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 17, 2014

By LeAnne Nienhuis
Education and Customer Programs Manager
Merril Hoge—a former NFL running back and current ESPN analyst—will share his inspiring story of perseverance and success in the face of long odds at the 2014 APPA National Conference. Hoge will talk about the numerous challenges he has faced, included losing his mother at a young age, a cancer diagnosis, and suffering a career-ending head trauma, and how he has overcome these challenges to achieve his goals. 

Merril Hoge
While playing in the NFL for the Pittsburgh Steelers from 1987-93, Hoge was a force in the backfield, leading his team in rushing and receiving in four of his first five years, and setting an NFL record for receptions by a running back in his third year. At the time of his retirement, Hoge had the longest active games-played streak in the NFL at 122 games. 

A fixture on ESPN covering the NFL, Hoge will share his philosophy, "find a way." 

The 2014 National Conference will be held June 14-18 in Denver, Colo., at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel. The conference draws more than 1,500 public power leaders, including utility boards, mayors, city council members, utility executives, senior managers, future utility leaders, and industry partners. Conference registration and program information is available at www.publicpower.org/NationalConference.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org