Public Power Daily Logo

WAPA seeks proposals for transmission projects that promote renewables


From the April 17, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 17, 2014

As part of its Transmission Infrastructure Program, the Western Area Power Administration is seeking new applications from project developers interested in obtaining a loan from Western to construct new or upgrade transmission lines and related facilities that promote the delivery of renewable power. Western finalized program updates in an April 7 Federal Register notice. The updates include guidelines that explain how projects that seek to use Western’s $3.25 billion borrowing authority under the program will be evaluated and processed. 

Applicants can either submit a project proposal and initial payment for the application review process, or submit a project proposal and business plan with full payment. Western’s staff will review the proposals quarterly and respond to applicants within 30 days of reviewing submissions.

The Transmission Infrastructure Program (TIP) "is separate and distinct from Western’s power marketing functions, and each eligible project must stand on its own for repayment purposes," WAPA said in the April 7 notice.

"The doors are wide open. It’s time to solve the energy infrastructure needs for our nation’s future," said Western Administrator Mark Gabriel. "Industry investments made today, like those offered through TIP, will ensure stability and reliability in the future."

More information on the TIP and how to apply is posted on WAPA’s website.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org