Public Power Daily Logo

NERC posts proposed physical security standard for comment


From the April 15, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 15, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
The North American Electric Reliability Corp. has posted a draft standard to require utilities to address physical security risks and vulnerabilities related to the reliable operation of the bulk-power system, as directed by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. Comments on the proposed standard may be filed until 8 p.m. Eastern time on April 24.

Only a relatively small number of transmission owners and transmission operators will need to comply with the entire standard, which covers only those transmission stations and transmission substations (and associated control centers) that if rendered inoperable or damaged could result in widespread instability, uncontrolled separation, or cascading within an Interconnection, NERC said. 

The proposed standard, background materials and links for submitting comments are available on NERC’s website.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org