Public Power Daily Logo

FERC to discuss software for RTO markets at technical conference in late June


From the April 14, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 14, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission plans to hold a technical conference June 23-25 to discuss opportunities for using improved software to increase the efficiency of the real-time and day-ahead markets run by regional transmission organizations. 

In a March 28 notice, the commission said its staff "will be facilitating a discussion to explore research and steps needed to implement approaches to market modeling which appear to have significant promise for potential efficiency improvements in the following areas: stochastic modeling; optimal transmission switching; alternating current (AC) optimal power flow modeling; and use of active and dynamic transmission ratings."

The notice includes a list of more detailed questions that the FERC staff would like addressed. A more detailed agenda will be posted after May 7. 

 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org