Public Power Daily Logo

Florida utility to stage mock disaster today


From the April 10, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 10, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
In an effort to assess the preparedness of its personnel to work cohesively in a crisis scenario, the Kissimmee Utility Authority in Florida will conduct what it called "a full-scale mock disaster exercise" today (April 10). The four-hour drill will involve a wide range of activities, including live-action training and table-top exercises. Activities will include pre- and post-hurricane scenarios and other threats that will be handled with the same intensity as real-life incidents, KUA said. The drill will not affect normal utility operations, the utility said.

A team of observers will evaluate the drill to identify vulnerabilities and exposures and make recommendations for improvements. 

"Disaster drills play an important role in the overall development and testing of an emergency plan," said Jef Gray, KUA’s vice president of information technology and utility drill coordinator. "We want to identify any shortfalls now so they can be addressed prior to the start of hurricane season."

The Atlantic hurricane season begins June 1 and ends Nov. 30. Weather forecasters are predicting a below-average season for 2014 with 11 named storms, five hurricanes and two major hurricanes, according to a forecast released March 24 by Weather Services International, a subsidiary company of The Weather Channel. Cooler-than-average waters in the eastern Atlantic and the likelihood of an El Niño are the primary reasons given for the lower forecast.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org