Public Power Daily Logo

APPA to offer new series of seven webinars on accounting and finance topics, starting April 24


From the April 10, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 10, 2014

By Heidi Lambert
Manager, Education

APPA is offering a new Accounting and Finance Webinar Series—made up of seven webinars—starting this month. These webinars are designed to educate public power professionals involved in financial planning (including general managers, finance and accounting personnel and rate analysts) about timely issues while earning CPE credits. 

The first webinar in that series, "Determining Revenue Requirements for Your Utility," is scheduled for Thursday, April 24. Determining revenue requirements is one of the most important financial targets a utility can establish, but is often the least understood. Revenue requirements determine the amount and timing of rate adjustments, which are often influenced by social and political factors. This webinar will be led by Mark Beauchamp, president of Utility Financial Solutions in Holland, Mich. 
  
This series also includes the following webinars (all held from 2 to 3:30 p.m., Eastern time): 
•  Development of Cash Reserve Policies – June 12 
•  Electric Rate Designs – Rate Structures that Reflect a Utility’s Costs – July 15 
•  Electric Rate Designs – Rate Structures to Promote Financial Stability or Energy Conservation – Aug. 19 
•  Line Extension Policies: Contributions in Aid of Construction – Sept. 9 
•  Performing a Utility Financial Check-Up – Oct. 16 
  
These webinars can be taken individually or as a series, for a discounted rate. Each event is worth 0.2 continuing education units, 1.5 professional development hours and 1.5 continuing professional education credits. 

For more information and to register, visit www.APPAAcademy.org under "webinars" or contact Meghan Riley at MRiley@PublicPower.org; 202/467-2919.

 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org