Public Power Daily Logo

House Agriculture Committee approves bill that includes Public Power Risk Management Act


From the April 10, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 10, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
APPA applauded the House Agriculture Committee’s approval yesterday of H.R. 4413, the Customer Protection and End-User Relief Act. Among other things, the legislation would allow public power utilities to hedge their operating risks on an even playing field with other entities in the energy sector and to clarify that contracts providing volumetric optionality are not swaps. 

"We are glad to see the members of the committee working together to provide protections for consumers and end users as they move to reauthorize the Commodity Futures Trading Commission," said APPA President and CEO Sue Kelly. 

H.R. 4413 includes the provisions of the Public Power Risk Management Act (H.R. 1038), which passed the House in June 2013 and has been introduced in the Senate as S. 1082. (See story on CFTC, above, for more information about this legislation). 

APPA also applauded a provision in the legislation that would require the Government Accountability Office to assess whether the CFTC has the resources it needs to carry out its responsibilities.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org