Public Power Daily Logo

Sue Kelly to testify at Senate hearing on grid security


From the April 9, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 9, 2014

By Meena Dayak
Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Senator Mary Landrieu (D-La.), chair of the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, has invited Sue Kelly, president and CEO of the American Public Power Association, to testify at a committee hearing titled "Keeping the Lights On — Are We Doing Enough to Ensure the Reliability and Security of the U.S. Electric Grid?" The hearing is at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, April 10 in Room 366 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building in Washington, D.C.

Kelly will testify on the first panel, which is focused on grid security, and will be joined by Cheryl LaFleur, chair of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; Gerry Cauley, CEO of the North American Electric Reliability Corporation; and Colette Honorable, chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners. A second panel, which will focus on grid reliability, will include FERC Commissioner Phil Moeller.

The hearing comes after FERC last month ordered the U.S. power industry to come up with reliability standards to protect the grid from attacks. Following recent media reports on the April 2013 attack on Pacific Gas & Electric's Metcalf substation in California, FERC issued an order on March 7, 2014 instructing the NERC to submit, within 90 days, proposed reliability standards to enhance the physical security of the bulk-power system (see Public Power Daily, March 10). 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org