Public Power Daily Logo

Cuyahoga Falls Electric System in Ohio receives DEED award for excellence


From the April 9, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 9, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor

The Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, Electric System has earned the 2014 Award of Continued Excellence from the American Public Power Association’s Demonstration of Energy & Efficiency Developments program.

The award recognizes continued commitment to the DEED program and its ideals — commitment to energy efficiency, investigation/ use of renewable resources, and support of public power. The award was presented yesterday during APPA’s annual Engineering & Operations Technical Conference, held in Oklahoma City, Okla.

"For 15 years, Cuyahoga Falls has been active in APPA’s DEED program," said APPA President & CEO Sue Kelly. "It has worked diligently to develop programs to promote renewable energy and energy efficiency, and it has been quick to share results with other public power utilities."

The Cuyahoga Falls utility earned a 2004 DEED Energy Innovator Award for its Building Energy Efficiency Leadership in a New Energy Era program, which promoted energy efficiency, renewable energy, and conservation in the community.  It also facilitated a 2008 DEED scholarship for photovoltaic research, and in 2013 was awarded a $50,000 DEED grant to improve its system’s reliability by way of feeder automation.

The DEED program was created in 1980 and is the only research and development effort funded nationally by and for public power systems. It has funded more than $12 million in energy projects since it was created.

For more information, visit publicpower.org/DEED

 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org