Public Power Daily Logo

94 utilities receive APPA Reliable Public Power Provider award at E&O Conference in Oklahoma


From the April 8, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 8, 2014

Ninety-four public power utilities were awarded Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3) recognition from the American Public Power Association for providing consumers with the highest degree of reliable and safe electric service. Brent McKinney, manager of electric transmission and distribution at City Utilities of Springfield, Mo., and chair of APPA’s RP3 Review Panel, presented the utilities with their awards yesterday during the association’s annual Engineering & Operations Technical Conference in Oklahoma City.

The RP3 designation recognizes public power utilities that demonstrate proficiency in four key disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development, and system improvement.  Criteria within each category are based on sound business practices and represent a utility-wide commitment to the safe and reliable delivery of electricity. The RP3 designation now lasts for three years (up from two), so the 94 utilities that earned the designation this year join the 90 that received it last year.

"RP3 utilities are providing a high level of service to communities all over the country," said McKinney, "These 94 designees stand out as models of safe, reliable, and forward-thinking utility operations."

This is the ninth year that the RP3 designation has been offered. For more information and a full list of the designees, see the RP3 section of the APPA website.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org